Premier Women win the 2023 Kate Sheppard Cup

13 Sep

Late winner sees Western Springs claim the Kate Sheppard Cup 2023

Credit Photosport NZ. 

Report from NZ Football

Western Springs have won the 2023 Kate Sheppard Cup after a 2 – 1 win over Wellington United this afternoon at North Harbour Stadium in Tāmaki Makaurau Auckland.

The Auckland side secured the cup with a late winner from substitute Ela Jerez with one minute of normal time left to play.

Western Springs had the better of the first half with Sofia Garcia going close and Liz Savage hitting the post before Sam Tawharu (38’) gave the team a deserved lead heading into half-time.

Put through on goal by Lara Colpi, Tawharu finished neatly past keeper Molly Simons.

But Wellington United came out fighting after the break and were level within 10 minutes through Jemma Robertson (55’).

Robertson was fastest to react to a dropped save for an easy finish to bring the Diamonds level.

With the game looking likely to head to extra time, substitute Ela Jerez (89’) broke free on the right wing to score the last-minute winner.

The 15-year-old outpaced the Wellington United defence and finished inside the near post to win the cup for Springs.

Western Springs captain Lily Jervis was awarded the Maia Jackman trophy after the match for the game’s best player.


Wellington United - 1 (Jemma Robertson 55’)
Western Springs - 2 (Sam Tawharu 38’, Ela Jerez 89’)